HOME Member Directory Meetings Join/Renew Wage Scales and more Contact Talk to us

Transition to New Health Plan Approved for MP/TV Film Employment

NEW! Flex Plan FAQ!

On Thursday, September 6 a side letter to the Motion Picture/TV Film Agreement was signed by the AFM and the Alliance of Motion Picture & Television Producers (AMPTP), finalizing a change in the health plan for L.A. musicians employed in the motion picture and TV film industry. This concludes a process initiated by the bargaining unit during negotiations in 2009.

Following the recommendation of the Blue Ribbon Health Committee, the AFM negotiated this side letter which changes our health plan as follows: Effective October 21, 2012, employer contributions will be directed to the Entertainment Industry Flex Plan, which takes the place of the Motion Picture Industry Health Plan (MPIHP).

While the Flex Plan will be our new health plan, musicians currently eligible for coverage under MPIHP will continue to be covered by MPIPHP until their current eligibility period ends. Musicians whom have qualified for the next 6 months of MPIPHP coverage by October 20th, 2012 will be covered by MPIPHP for their next 6 months of health coverage. Furthermore, musicians with adequate banked hours will be able to draw down those hours to continue their MPIPHP coverage for applicable coverage periods well into 2013.

Additionally, in 2013, actively employed musicians who are participants in the Secondary Markets Fund will be able to elect a pre-tax contribution to cover estimated premiums while also accruing employer contributions into their Flex Plan “account.”

Your health care decisions are vitally important for you and your family and you should rely on professionals for advice about your unique circumstances.  We will provide more information as it becomes available.

Our thanks goes out to those who served on or consulted the Blue Ribbon Health Committee: Local 47 Vice President John Acosta (chair), RMALA President Pete Anthony (vice chair), Marc Sazer (secretary), Jay Rosen, Greg Jamrok, Jen Kuhn, Ken Munday, Phil Ayling and Local 47 President Vince Trombetta.  This move would not have been possible without the hands-on support and involvement of AFM President Ray Hair and AFM Counsel Anne Mayerson.

- Your RMALA Board


Call our hotline at 323-446-8316
Blue Ribbon Health Care Committee
John Acosta, Chair
Pete Anthony, Vice Chair
Marc Sazer, Secretary
Greg Jamrok
Jen Kuhn
Ken Munday
Jay Rosen
Vince Trombetta

Dennis Dreith, Consultant
Lewis Levy, Counsel

Health Care Compare Chart